Fuck it. Really.

I know I am not the only one in the world who has fuck-it moments. Seriously. Fess up. We all do it.

I may be doing it more often than usual lately, however. With everything I have to deal with, I have decided that some things just aren’t worth the effort and stress. Why have something in my life that does nothing but cause me anxiety, or add stress to my already-stressful-enough existence? That goes for friends and obligations too.

I used to volunteer to do things I didn’t really want to do, for reasons I didn’t even really understand.  I’m not doing that anymore either.

Fuck it. Really.

It sounds crappy, I know, but look at it this way: There are few things in life that really matter. Family, friends, good things. All those crappy small things that exist solely to stress you out? Those people that only serve to make you miserable? Those obligations that you really didn’t want, and therefore do a crappy half-assed job at anyway?

Repeat after me: Fuck it.

Spend time and mental energy on the things that matter most to you. The people you love, the things you enjoy doing. The rest is not truly important. Not worth stressing about, not worth obsessing over.

Life is short, people.

(For the record: I’m not saying quit your job and go live in a box, unless that is what would make you happy, but you CAN change things, and you can eliminate things you hate, and you can put energy towards finding a path that you truly enjoy, a life that leaves you feeling fulfilled and content)

5 Comments

Filed under Rants, Rambling, and Musing., Things That Suck

5 responses to “Fuck it. Really.

  1. I just had this kind of convo with a friend of mine who is miserable in his job. Life’s too short.

  2. pandorican

    Exactly. Every day, I realize all over again just how short life is, and I’m amazed by how much time and mental energy we waste on things that, in the long run, really don’t matter all that much.

  3. WookieLover1224

    Damnit… I dont care HOW much you post about it… you still have to pick your socks up off the floor.

  4. pandorican

    But…That’s why we have DOGS. Come on!

  5. WookieLover1224

    no no no no. See…. what goes INTO the dog, also must come out. And when they eat your socks… it’s much like those screens/filters on the end of the hose that come out of a washing machine.

    Only… um…. different.

Leave a comment