High Maintenence

I know I am not the only one who has that friend. (Hell, sometimes I am that friend.)

You know the one.  They only call you when they need something. You can spend hours on the phone with them, listening to them talk about themselves. Their lives. But when it comes to your life, they can’t be bothered to give a shit.

I just don’t have the mental energy for those kinds of friendships anymore. I really don’t. I barely have the energy required for normal friendships right now. It may be selfish, but my time is limited and I’m choosing not to waste it on people who aren’t worth it.

If there is any kind of stress or guilt involved in a  friendship, I’m just not doing it. I have more important things to spend my time on. ( Like Paper Mario and Coraline)

Also, If I have to turn into a crazy stalker just to get someone to call me back, well, I’m not doing that either. I’m simply not going to beg anyone to be my friend.

If you want me, you know where to find me.

3 Comments

Filed under Rants, Rambling, and Musing.

3 responses to “High Maintenence

  1. I hear you! I’ve stopped responding to people who say, “We have to get together sometime!” and then do nothing to make this happen. Fortunately, I don’t have enough “quiet phone time” to talk to those people who only want to blather on and on about their lives, so they have been phased out rather nicely.

  2. karat

    because i believe in a give-and-take relationship, i just dump those who use me but aren’t willing to give me something in return.
    been much happier since, and it’s good for my wallet too.

  3. Pingback: Fuck it. Really. « Pandemonium

Leave a Reply

