One month

The baby is four weeks old today.

Yesterday, I took him for his one month checkup. When the doctor asked me how I was doing, I started crying.

I came home with meds.

I’ve been crying for weeks.  It has nothing to do with the baby though. He is perfect. It has to do with lots of other things.

I turned 30 last week. By itself, that’s not so bad. But my entire side of the family forgot. I got ONE card from them, and only because I accidentally reminded the person, who admitted she had forgotten.  No one called. Or came by. In stark contrast, Every member of my husbands family called, and sent each of us a card, (we share a birthday, remember) They really are wonderful, and I am so incredibly grateful.

But it just made my family’s failings that much more obvious.

No one called on Thanksgiving either.  And the only people that have come to see the baby are my husbands parents and one family that we are friends with, who we spent Thanksgiving with.

I’m very thankful for the wonderful people we do have in our lives, but very, very lonely and sad right now, and I can’t seem to shake it. Or do anything to change it. And I just had a baby so I’m even less able to deal because of hormones and lack of sleep.

So here’s hoping the meds help.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “One month

  1. Becky

    I want to come see you. 😦

    Families stink sometimes. That’s why we have friends. We get to choose them. 🙂

  2. I went through post-partum (which I only realized in hind-sight, unfortunately…)—not a fun place.
    But I hear meds are GREAT!!!

Leave a Reply

