Sometimes you just have to do it.

I spent awhile debating today over if I should write about this.

Or even this.

I decided against it. Mainly because, well, the first article really says it all for me. (I’m pretty sure I even already posted about how pissed I was when my five year old came home from school convinced I was going to die because I “take pills” and convinced Dad was an alcoholic because he has a beer every so often. And thus also: going to die. Thank you Red Ribbon Week, which, oh yeah: WE HAD NO SAY OR WARNING ABOUT WHATSOEVER.)

Bottom line there is, be an involved parent. If YOU are active in their lives and able to have real conversations with your kids about issues, then I feel the chances of them being “brainwashed” or “indoctrinated” or whatever are slim. If you are concerned about the content of the speech, watch it yourself and discuss it with your kid.

Ok, so I lied about not talking about this.  It’s kind of a moot point anyway because chances are,  it will get canceled, and if it isn’t, it’s not very likely to be shown in my kids school.  (Gotta love the south: don’t you dare let the the President of The United States “brainwash” the kids to stay in school, but lets teach public school kids ALL ABOUT GOD AND CHRISTIANITY. )  Which leads me to my next link.

Evolution is not religion, people. It’s science. And the claim that they need to “…remain neutral on issues of religion.” is obvious bullshit, because if they were being neutral, they would have left the shirts alone. What they are doing, is, yet again, letting religion dictate education.

Which gets me all ugh-hy. (Ugh-ish?)

Look, there’s a reason for separation of church and state. We aren’t all the same religion, and we shouldn’t all be indoctrinated from kindergarten and taught that the only right way to be is some form of Christian.

So, yeah, I don’t think kids should have to pray in school, or pledge allegiance to any god. Or be told about how angels  and heaven work,  and how some god created the earth in seven days, as though it is fact.

Religion is not fact, nor is it science- it is a belief system. (Which varies widely based on family influence, region and personal experience, believe it or not.)

If you want your child to learn your particular faith, great! Take them to church, or put them in a  private school run by the god of your choice. Or, you know, teach them yourself. But it’s not your the schools job to teach this, (and I’d appreciate it if you’d stop forcing science teachers to not teach science, too. )

(Let me just state, for the record, that I really don’t hate you if you are conservative, or religious. I’m married to a conservative Republican who wanted me to state that he, in fact, does not want the Kid watching the Obama speech. And some of his reasoning as to why is probably valid. I understand it, I just believe good parenting can counteract any damage done by it.  And I fully believe in everyone’s right to believe in whatever god they choose.  Privately, and not in the middle of my kids kindergarten class.)

I simply don’t think kids should be censored from seeing things like shirts with monkeys evolving on them or speeches from our President. (Yes. Even if it was a Republican president. Though, if he was planning on doing a speech like the war on drugs speech from Bush Sr, this might have turned into an entirely different rant. Then again: Maybe not. I don’t intend to pull her out of school for “Red Ribbon Week”, though I disagree with aspects of that strongly. )

If the messages sent by either of those things is something that doesn’t fall in line with your particular views, well, remember, YOU are your child’s first teacher. It’s your job to pay attention to what they are learning, discuss these things with them, get involved. Parent. You can’t hide these things from them forever.

Also, in case you were wondering, I don’t censor much of what the Kid watches. Sure, I monitor and limit it and weed out most of the gore and violence for the sake of sleeping, but I’m not fanatical about making sure she doesn’t see certain movies or TV shows because the guy said a bad word,  talked about god, or called someone something I didn’t agree with. I simply watch these things with her and we discuss things as they come up.  She knows movies are made up, and that people do things in them that we consider wrong. In fact, she usually points out to me when someone is doing something that we don’t do. “That kid was really mean to that other kid. That wasn’t nice, he shouldn’t do that.”

It actually leads to some  very enlightening conversations sometimes. For both of us.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sometimes you just have to do it.

  1. Wow, I don’t think I could be married to a conservative republican. Not because they’re evil or anything, but because I’m not that good at compromise. 😉 And you are so dead on about the evolution/religion issue. Evolution is FACT.

    Some people get huffy about the most trivial things.

  2. Pando, you’re trying to get me to chew my arm off aren’t you.

    GLhahalhfakhlyh.

    This is one reason I’m so conflicted about wanting to be a parent… The messages, ideals, hatred, and avarice of the world we live in is so counter to that I want my child to understand that I’ll have to constantly fight.

  3. If there’s a topic where I get impatient and intolerant, it’s the injection of religion where it doesn’t belong.

    Great post, Pando.

    • pandorican

      Oh, I think we see eye to eye on several issues. I have seen some of your comments about religion. It’s a topic I address frequently, because it happens ALL the time in public school here.

Leave a Reply

