As a country, don’t we have better things to do?

I  wasn’t going to comment publicly on the spectacle that has been the death of Michael Jackson. I really wasn’t.  When the 24 hour news networks were running stories about Jon and Kate and their divorce, I let it go. I’m being all Zen like and  thinking as though  I am a duck. All this is just water, rolling off my back. I did not let the anger get inside. The annoyance, at how, we as a country, appear to care more about our celebrities and faux celebrities than we do about, oh, say, war.

( Which, hey, by the way, is still going on.) I try to avoid watching the 24hour spew networks anyway for a myriad of reasons, the least of which is their tendency to push real issues to the back burner. As I saw, when i mistakenly flipped over to headline news sometime during the week of this latest freakshow.  People sobbing and crying and going on and on about what a wonderful person this man was while the ticker along the bottom brings news of soldiers dying in other places, actual heroes, dead, and as usual relegated to a 13 second nameless ticker mention.

I tried to let this go, tried to think zen like thoughts. Tried to be the duck. And then they started talking about what a wonderful inspirational icon the man was, and though he was a bit “quirky” the world had lost a treasure. At this point,  I started to lose it a little bit inside.

Um, seriously. People? The word you are looking for is not “quirky” nor is it “eccentric”. It is “pedophile”.

Are we that screwed up, that we all can’t see how insane it is to hold 24 hour tributes to this person, bury him as though he was royalty and just gloss over that whole phase in his life where he was paying kids off for having exposed himself to them?

I mean, yeah, sure, he had some hits back in the day. He made some music. And made a spectacle of himself, and you know, we love spectacle, so it’s OK. (Besides, who hasn’t hung their infant out of a window lately?)

It’s sad for his family that he is dead I suppose. But we are expected to mourn as a nation, as a country, as a world- and just pretend like this guy was the greatest thing since sliced bread?

No thanks. I have better things to do.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Television, Movies, Music and Other Popular Things., Rants, Rambling, and Musing., Things That Suck

2 responses to “As a country, don’t we have better things to do?

  1. justmeandthevoices

    Totally with you on this one! And I’m loving “Be the duck”! I’m going to have to remember that one for myself.

  2. glummum

    well said. I so agree with you.

Leave a Reply

