Getting all those awkward questions out of the way early so you can all judge me and we can go on with our lives.

First up: Yes. I will continue to take my medication as needed throughout the pregnancy.  It’s more dangerous for the baby and if I don’t take the meds, since they control what nutrients I absorb and my blood pressure (And I had Pre-Eclampsia twice so my BP needs to be very much controlled.). My doctors all know what I am taking and why and have assured me that nothing I am taking is likely in any way to cause any birth defects or other serious problems.  There are some risks, but I am taking steps to minimize them.

Second: Not breastfeeding. Physically, I can’t, I have never been able to do it, and even if I could, well,  see medication comment above. I assure you, none of my non-breastfed other children suffered any ill consequences from this lack. Formula is not child abuse.

Third: If it’s a boy, it will be a Jewish Boy. And therefore will be circumcised in a public, catered, ceremonial kind of way. We’d be doing it, and having a party to celebrate it.  I have no problems with this, though I might have chosen differently had the situation been different. It’s not, and I’m fine with it.

I’m putting this all out there nice and early, because I know these are all topics people feel very strongly about, and lots of new people are reading lately.

I understand if these are not the choices you would have made, or would make in my position. That’s fine. Everyone does what is best under their own particular set of circumstances. You are free to say you would do things differently.

However-If you want to judge and hate me for these choices, then the sooner I mention them, the sooner you can decide to stop reading and go away.

1 Comment

Filed under Tales in Baby-growing

One response to “Getting all those awkward questions out of the way early so you can all judge me and we can go on with our lives.

  1. glummum

    As someone who is new to your blog, I love your honesty. I find it so refreshing…..and not just another haha funny mommy post that are everywhere.

    I chose not to breast feed and my girls are quite happy and healthy at 13 and 19. It just wasn’t something I wanted to do. Can’t explain it….but there you are.

    I’ll be sticking around if you don’t mind me peeking in on your life.

Leave a Reply

