Blogging About Blogging

A friend of mine recently read my blog for the first time. (Hi! Welcome!)

She told me, “I like it. It’s funny. You write how you talk.”

I didn’t really think much of it at the time, but later the phrase came back to me. People have said it to me before and I’d never given it much thought.

But it’s true. I do write how I talk. I think that is kind of the point.

There have been many conversations out there in the world ( I will not
say Blog-O-Sphere: I refuse) about whether blogging is actually writing. My answer: Sure it is. Unless you suck.

No, seriously – and I mean this in the nicest way possible, really – some people just should not be out there trying to blog. (I’m fully aware that I’m probably one of those people and this post is entirely hypocritical, but still…)

If you can’t tell a story without using one long sentence that has no punctuation and it just goes on and on and on and on kind of like this one and you really make peoples’ heads bleed with your grammar and you’re use of the wrong words constatly like i just did right there with the you’re instead of your and you cant use spell check and so your posts all kind of look like this:

DON’T.

Seriously. Keep a journal or something, by all means, but don’t make it public and direct everyone you know (and many you don’t) to read it. Because it just makes you look like an asshat.

(God, I really really really want to go correct all that. Must resist impulse…)

I’m not talking about mistakes and the random shit that gets through sometimes. No matter how good a writer you are, you are going to sometimes forget to capitalize a word, or you are going to use incorrect grammar or an inadequate number of dots in an ellipsis or whatever. It happens. The more you write, actually, the more it happens. That’s why writers have editors. But, if every post you create is one long chunk of badly worded, misspelled nonsense, well, just… don’t.

Ok, so now that I have gone off on THAT tangent, let me get back to my
original point. Writing.  Blogging. Bloggers tend to write how they
talk.

For me, blogging is kind of like having a conversation with the world.

An informal conversation with the world. Its not an echoplex, you are actually talking to people.  Sometimes they even talk back. A lot of new bloggers tend to forget that the point is to share things with other people. It’s not completely selfish, its NOT a diary. Bloggers have some measure of responsibility to their readers to make sure that what they write about is not merely important to them, but also interesting and entertaining and at least somewhat readable.
It doesn’t have to be formal though. That’s one of the things that draws people to this medium. You aren’t writing essays. You have no guidelines. Other than the fact that you should at least try to keep in mind that you will eventually have readers, you can really talk about whatever you want. (Even poo.) But you can do it in a conversational way. You can write like you talk. Just remember that you are talking to people and not just yourself.

Also, if you like and respect someone for their acting or singing or
whatever, you might want to think twice about reading their blog. I’m
just saying.

7 Comments

Filed under Blog related Blog Posts.

7 responses to “Blogging About Blogging

  1. I’ve always liked to tell stories, so blogging to me is a way to tell the stories of my life without having to subject my husband (the one adult I see the most) to my non-stop chatter all the time.

  2. pandorican

    It’s definitely a rewarding way to share your story as well. People seem to be drawn to other’s stories. It’s nice to feel like other people are going through the things you have been through, it’s nice to know we are all in this together, in some respects. I too, use this as an outlet to spare the man my chattering. He can choose, or not choose, to come read it. (And he can choose, or not choose to leave sarcastic comments as well)

  3. FOM: That’s an interesting difference, because for me participating in blogs is a way to present arguments and to hear others thoughts. This may be due to the fact that I’m horrible at telling stories. Really. Really. REALLY bad at it.

    Presenting arguments however, I’m very good at. I’ve had to do it my entire life because hardly anybody agrees with me right off the bat.

  4. Me

    Thanks for the welcome, you have a great blog. I promise to comment more, Im sifting through all your earlier postings its really good shit! I guess Ive found a place I can curse with out my kids hearing me, can I smoke too?

  5. You were talking about me, right? (running to cry in the corner)

    My early posts make me cringe, and while I’m still a typo queen, I’ve improved because someone besides my dad is reading me now. In fact there might be two someones.

Leave a Reply

