Wow.

So, I did what I swore I wouldn’t and spent most of the day yesterday glued to my television, watching history unfold before my eyes. (And then making fun of it via Twitter and chat)

I have to admit, the whole thing was pretty awesome. (Bad poetry aside.) I usually start drooling on myself about 20 seconds into any politicians speech, but this time, I was hanging on every word, and even understanding most of it.  Seriously, someone in office that doesn’t bore me to tears or make me want to cry and hit him with a  dictionary every time he opens his mouth is a wonderful thing indeed. That alone has made me very happy.

People like to assume that I am a liberal democrat, which I find privately amusing. (According to those silly what-political-affiliation-are-you quizzes, I am actually a libertarian, if you are interested.)

Frankly, I have never really had an affiliation with any party. I am for education, science, reason and personal freedom. Which, well, doesn’t really line up with the Republican party as of late. Not that the democrats are that much better, really, but at least they try to give a shit about these things. Some of the comments Bush made about the environment made me cringe.

And while I am not a rabid Obama-fanatic, in a choice between him and McCain, he was clearly the better human being. The one most likely to at least try to make things better for people, not companies. The one most likely to promote, yes, change.

Although, I really wish we as a country, could get past this insistence of religious display in our leaders. They felt the need to pray, repeatedly throughout the inauguration. Aren’t we supposed to have a separation of church and state here? Or at least pretend to?

Like I said before, I have no problem with people believing whatever they want in the privacy of their own heads. I just don’t think it has any place in government, or education. And I don’t think we should care what religion the president is. Or insist that he has one. Christian does not automatically equal moral.

Oh well, baby steps people, baby steps. At least we are on a better path this time. Hopefully.

Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaange

Photos, as always, via daylife.com which is the awesomest site evar for news and pictures. ❤

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants, Rambling, and Musing.

Leave a Reply

