Pushing Daisies

As I have mentioned before, I love television. I know, it’s not considered cool to watch TV.  It’s not hip. But I never said I was cool, now did I?

I love the way a good story can take you to another place, put you in another’s shoes. I enjoy escaping with a good book, and a good show. I will watch many things, even past the point where I should clearly stop. But I do have some rules. With a few exceptions, I won’t watch half-hour programs, because that is just not enough time, in my opinion, to get a good plot going. And, as I have also mentioned, I hate reality TV,  including news programs, I prefer to read the news, (preferably in fact form minus spin), not have it  read to me by talking heads.

I want it to be fictional, and I want it to be funny, exciting and interesting. I want it to effectively take me away from my own life for 47 minutes. I don’t even generally care if the acting is bad, or even if the show is just bad, I will watch a bad show, if the, er, badness is interesting in and of itself.

Having been an avid watcher of many shows, both good and bad, I think I can safely say this: Pushing Daisies is one of the most interesting new shows out there. Of course, this means it will be cancelled promptly, but hey, I just wanted to give it a shout out beforehand.

I heart this show. Truly. There is nothing else on the major networks right now that makes me feel as though everyone in the world has taken one too many hits of LSD at some point. First off, the guy works in a pie.   Putting aside the fact that he can bring dead people back to life for a minute, just think about this. He works in a PIE.  You know how much I like pie, right?

I enjoy this show because it’s different. Unique. The world in this show is a slightly fuzzier version of our world, with a little more magic. It’s creative.

Ahh.. fuck. I googled for pictures and read that it has been cancelled already.

Seriously, the people who decide this shit are fucking stupid. I am so sick of getting into a show only to have it cancelled after a season. They don’t give the shows a fair chance to pick up a following, they don’t allow for time to develop characters, and they don’t respect the fan base. Stop throwing away good ideas just to make way for fucking reality TV bullshit that gets eaten up by the mindless masses like sheep balls on “Fear Factor.”  Give the things that are actually creative a chance.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Television, Movies, Music and Other Popular Things.

One response to “Pushing Daisies

Leave a Reply

