I’d really rather stick rusty sporks in my eye, than do this:

But I’m doing it anyway, to show solidarity with the other amazing women out there, (even those that have only the vaguest idea of who I am.) Women who are baring their bellies for the world to see.

So, as mush as I hate to do it, screw it. Me:

Dear food: get in mah belly. thx.Yep, I’m scarred as hell, thanks to my three children, and various abdominal surgeries. That hole at the top? That’s one of the four gallbladder removal holes. Wasn’t supposed to scar like that. In fact, a girl I knew who had the same surgery on the same day had no scar after a month. A year later for me, and look what I’ve got. That’s nothing though. you should see inside my bellybutton.  Shudder. Also, I tend to look pregnant because of the pancreatitis.

Anyway, I digress. The point of this is, as much as I hate looking at myself, sick as I am, and especially seeing my stomach now, with all of its scars- you know what? Each scar means something. My belly may not be perfect, but my children, my children are.

And that’s all that really matters, I suppose. Especially when my scars are really all I have left of two of my babies. I’m not going to lie and say I treasure the stretch mark scars, but they are worthy marks, evidence of the battle my body went through to bring three people into this world. I don’t treasure them, no, but I respect them.

My gallbladder scars and pancreatitis belly, however, can fuck right off.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “I’d really rather stick rusty sporks in my eye, than do this:

  1. That photo, and this post, are beautiful, but I’m also laughing my ass right off at that last line.

  2. HA! That last line is a kicker.

    And? I hear you on the scars. I would KILL for your waist. Just so you know.

  3. pandorican

    Thanks you two. For the record, the waist is a result of the kids too. Never had that before them.

  4. Woman, you have nothing to worry about. I don’t know if it’s the pic or what, but your belly looks just fine to me.

  5. I’m going to echo the above—I think you look awesome! Look forward to shredding with you, whatever that means.

  6. glummum

    I agree with everyone else. If my belly looked like yours, I’d be showing it off.

  7. Sorry to disagree, it looks pretty good.

  8. **agrees with above**
    **also would kill for waist**

  9. We pretty much look alike (save for the scars…mine are different and I love them all) so basically my swollen ego says I think you are drop dead beautiful – because you are.

Leave a Reply

